An official website of Arlington County Government
Nerdfighter Party for Teens--Central
0

Nerdfighter Party for Teens–Central

When: October 4, 2014 @ 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Where: Central Library, Youth Services , 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

An afternoon of awesome for fans of John and Hank Green A slew of activities including nerdfighter trivia contests, poster-making, cookie decorating, prizes and more.

CANCELED: Author Event: YA Favorite Paolo Bacigalupi on His New Thriller "The Doubt Factory"--Central
0

CANCELED: Author Event: YA Favorite Paolo Bacigalupi on His New Thriller “The Doubt Factory”–Central

When: October 13, 2014 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Where: Arlington Central Library Auditorium, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

THIS AUTHOR EVENT HAS BEEN CANCELED. The Printz Award winner discusses and reads from his new thriller “The Doubt Factory” Mr. Bacigalupi’s books will be available for sale and signing courtesy of One More Page Books.  

Volunteer: Help Bag Food for Neighbors--Central
0

Volunteer: Help Bag Food for Neighbors–Central

When: August 29, 2014 @ 12:00 pm – 2:00 pm
Where: Central Library, east plaza facing tennis courts, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

Join the Arlington Food Assistance Center in bagging potatoes for distribution to clients The potatoes will be bought at bulk prices and delivered to the Central Library east plaza facing the tennis courts (weather permitting). Volunteers will put potatoes into family-size bags for clients.   We encourage everyone (young children are welcome) to join in. [...]

Tech Class: Create Your Own Website--Central
0

Tech Class: Create Your Own Website–Central

When: September 10, 2014 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Where: Central Library Computer Lab, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

A two-part program Learn how to build a personal website with Weebly, a free online application. Find out how to choose a theme, add a blog, post a photo gallery, manage pages, add a shopping cart and more. Part One: Sept. 10, 7 p.m. Part Two: Sept. 17, 7 p.m.

Author Event: Rainbow Rowell on "Landline"--Central
6

Author Event: Rainbow Rowell on “Landline”–Central

When: September 22, 2014 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Where: Arlington Central Library Auditorium, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

The YA great and Printz Honor winner talks censorship, romance and her new novel Ms. Rowell will read from her latest work, “Landline.” Books will be available for sale and signing courtesy of One More Page Books.  

Author Event: Journalist Beth Macy on the Best-Seller "Factory Man"--Central
0

Author Event: Journalist Beth Macy on the Best-Seller “Factory Man”–Central

When: October 7, 2014 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Where: Arlington Central Library Auditorium, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

In Person: Beth Macy on “Factory Man: How One Furniture Maker Battled Offshoring, Stayed Local — and Helped Save an American Town”  Macy has written the remarkable story of John Bassett III, a south Virginia furniture executive whose original company fell on hard times in the 1980s fighting relentless competition from Asia. Using legal strategies, [...]

Resume Writing with Northern Virginia Community College–Central
0

Resume Writing with Northern Virginia Community College–Central

When: August 21, 2014 @ 5:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Where: Central Library, Second Floor Meeting Room, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

First impressions mean a lot, and your resume could be a prospective employer’s first impression of you! A career counselor from Northern Virginia Community College will visit Arlington Central Library to teach how your resume can showcase your skills and experiences to open the door to interviews.  The class will be approximately 2 hours including [...]

Shut Up and Write: Panel Discussion for Aspiring Writers of YA Lit–Central
0

Shut Up and Write: Panel Discussion for Aspiring Writers of YA Lit–Central

When: September 23, 2014 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Where: Central Library, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

Shut Up and Write is a series of  panel discussions on writing Young Adult Fiction, moderated by author Jon Skovron. The September 2014 session focuses on writing across ages, for both YA and adult audiences. Our panel of YA Lit experts will feature authors Diana Peterfreund and Lea Nolan. The panelists will also take questions from the audience, [...]

All-New League: Get to Know Library Fantasy Football--Central
0

All-New League: Get to Know Library Fantasy Football–Central

When: August 18, 2014 @ 6:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Where: Central Library, Second Floor Meeting Room, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

Join the Library’s First Fantasy Football League! Learn how to create your team in the Library’s 2014 “Dewey Decimators League” and find out how to use Yahoo!’s free Fantasy Football program. You’ll also hear about the fabulous prizes to be awarded throughout the season. August 18 attendance is mandatory for league participation. League participants can manage [...]

"Frozen" Film Sing-a-Long for Kids and Teens--Central
1

“Frozen” Film Sing-a-Long for Kids and Teens–Central

When: August 28, 2014 @ 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Where: Arlington Central Library Auditorium, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

Come in, cool off and sing along with your favorite princess sisters, Elsa and Anna. The movie will be projected on the screen along with all those lyrics. Did you know that Arlington Public Library has 49 copies of the “Frozen” DVD?