An official website of Arlington County Government
Resume Writing with Northern Virginia Community College–Central
0

Resume Writing with Northern Virginia Community College–Central

When: December 9, 2014 @ 5:30 pm – 7:30 pm
Where: Central Library, Second Floor Meeting Room, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

First impressions mean a lot, and your resume could be a prospective employer’s first impression of you! A career counselor from Northern Virginia Community College will visit Arlington Central Library to teach how your resume can showcase your skills and experiences to open the door to interviews.  The class will be approximately 2 hours including [...]

Resume Writing with Northern Virginia Community College–Central
0

Resume Writing with Northern Virginia Community College–Central

When: October 21, 2014 @ 5:30 pm – 7:30 pm
Where: Central Library, Second Floor Meeting Room, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

First impressions mean a lot, and your resume could be a prospective employer’s first impression of you! A career counselor from Northern Virginia Community College will visit Arlington Central Library to teach how your resume can showcase your skills and experiences to open the door to interviews.  The class will be approximately 2 hours including [...]

INOVA Blood Drive--Central
0

INOVA Blood Drive–Central

When: October 18, 2014 @ 11:00 am – 3:00 pm
Where: Arlington Central Library Auditorium, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

Donate Blood, Save A Life! Please donate to help patients in our community.  Schedule online. The phone number to make an appointment to donate blood at Central Library is 1-866-256-6372.  Walk-ins are welcome, but those with appointments have preference. All donors must present a photo ID. Donors should also eat a meal and drink extra [...]

Shut Up and Write: NANOWRIMO Edition
0

Shut Up and Write: NANOWRIMO Edition

When: November 19, 2014 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Where: Central Library Second Floor Meeting Room, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

Shut Up and Write is a series of  panel discussions on writing Young Adult Fiction, moderated by author Jon Skovron. This special all-ages NANOWRIMO panel discussion is also a celebration of our one year anniversary! The panelists will take questions from the audience, and the authors’ books will be available for purchase and signing. Find more NANOWRIMO [...]

Author Event: White House Photojournalist Dennis Brack on "Presidential Picture Stories"--Central
0

Author Event: White House Photojournalist Dennis Brack on “Presidential Picture Stories”–Central

When: November 24, 2014 @ 7:00 pm – 8:45 pm
Where: Arlington Central Library Auditorium, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

Presidents can stay only eight years but veteran photojournalists like Dennis Brack have spent decades documenting First Family life and fresh history in the White House “fishbowl.” Having created a museum’s worth of images for the Black Star agency, Brack has now written the book on his craft, “Presidential Picture Stories: Behind the Cameras at [...]

Nerdfighter Party for Teens--Central
0

Nerdfighter Party for Teens–Central

When: October 4, 2014 @ 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Where: Central Library, Youth Services , 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

An afternoon of awesome for fans of John and Hank Green A slew of activities including nerdfighter trivia contests, poster-making, cookie decorating, prizes and more.

CANCELED: Author Event: YA Favorite Paolo Bacigalupi on His New Thriller "The Doubt Factory"--Central
0

CANCELED: Author Event: YA Favorite Paolo Bacigalupi on His New Thriller “The Doubt Factory”–Central

When: October 13, 2014 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Where: Arlington Central Library Auditorium, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

THIS AUTHOR EVENT HAS BEEN CANCELED. The Printz Award winner discusses and reads from his new thriller “The Doubt Factory” Mr. Bacigalupi’s books will be available for sale and signing courtesy of One More Page Books.  

Volunteer: Help Bag Food for Neighbors--Central
0

Volunteer: Help Bag Food for Neighbors–Central

When: August 29, 2014 @ 12:00 pm – 2:00 pm
Where: Central Library, east plaza facing tennis courts, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

Join the Arlington Food Assistance Center in bagging potatoes for distribution to clients The potatoes will be bought at bulk prices and delivered to the Central Library east plaza facing the tennis courts (weather permitting). Volunteers will put potatoes into family-size bags for clients.   We encourage everyone (young children are welcome) to join in. [...]

Tech Class: Create Your Own Website--Central
0

Tech Class: Create Your Own Website–Central

When: September 10, 2014 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Where: Central Library Computer Lab, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

A two-part program Learn how to build a personal website with Weebly, a free online application. Find out how to choose a theme, add a blog, post a photo gallery, manage pages, add a shopping cart and more. Part One: Sept. 10, 7 p.m. Part Two: Sept. 17, 7 p.m.

Author Event: Rainbow Rowell on "Landline"--Central
6

Author Event: Rainbow Rowell on “Landline”–Central

When: September 22, 2014 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Where: Arlington Central Library Auditorium, 1015 North Quincy Street, Arlington,VA 22201, USA

The YA great and Printz Honor winner talks censorship, romance and her new novel Ms. Rowell will read from her latest work, “Landline.” Books will be available for sale and signing courtesy of One More Page Books.